consumer hair removal forum
Page 1 of 2 1 2 >
Topic Options
Rate This Topic
Hop To:
#123271 - 12/29/16 10:08 PM Thermolysis and needle size
Dona Offline
Major Contributor

Hi everyone! So I have been doing electrolysis on myself for some time now using thermolysis which I know is a bit crazy I have indeed burned myself and left tiny marks here and there. However I saw for myself that thermolysis worked best and is easiest to demonstrate on arm hair I removed patches on my leg as well but the insertions are a bit tricky. I have been waxing the hair for over 9 years now.... I've done the same for my arm hair as well... Waxing for years... Now I'm thinking it could be the needle size making the hairs not epilate easily. I'm using ballet F shank size 3. Any idea about what size I should use for thick leg hairs?

Sponsored Links
#123272 - 12/29/16 11:19 PM Re: Thermolysis and needle size [Re: Dona]
fenix Offline
Top 10 Contributor

On thick legs hairs you should go with a F5 or better yet F6.
But thicker probes can be a challenge to do insertions with especially if you're working on yourself. Are you having any trouble seeing the hair now when you work with your size 3 probes?

#123273 - 12/30/16 12:53 AM Re: Thermolysis and needle size [Re: Dona]
Dona Offline
Major Contributor

Do you mean i can see where a single hair goes under the skin? I can see only few of them if that's what you mean but the majority I pretty much have to judge from the direction of the majority of the hairs in one area

#123275 - 12/30/16 11:11 AM Re: Thermolysis and needle size [Re: Dona]
Iluv2zap Offline
Top 10 Contributor

I' m going to disagree with your probe size assessment fenix.