consumer hair removal forum
Page 1 of 2 1 2 >
Topic Options
Rate This Topic
Hop To:
#45943 - 09/20/07 09:55 AM Laser Burn!
mommy_xo Offline

Hey everyone,

I'm a newbie here. I've been receiving laser hair removal for my underarms (alexandrite), and recently the settings were changed to treat hyperpigmentation. It burned like crazy during the treatment and a few hours after I came home too. The pain went away and the next thing I know, I wake up the next morning with all these dark gray marks in my underarm! They're not uniform in shape - I have about 4 patches about 1.5x1.5 cm and then smaller random marks. Are these superficial burns and will scab off?

I tried asking the settings, but the person didn't specify too much. I know it was 14j on the Apogee...and supposedly 14j was used on my skin prior to these dark gray burns and my skin was completely fine. The person mentioned they were just changing the wavelength setting so it is shorter to treat the hyperpigmentation - this definitely concentrates the energy more causing the laser to be more powerful.

BTW, I'm probably about a skin type IV.

Bottom line is that I'm worried that these dark gray marks will be permanent! I hope they'll resolve in a week, or better yet, have them completely scab off. \:\(

I plan on calling the office to discuss this issue tomorrow or ASAP. Am I overreacting and should I wait a few more days?

Thanks for your help in advance.

Sponsored Links
#45944 - 09/20/07 11:00 AM Re: Laser Burn! [Re: mommy_xo]
mommy_xo Offline

I came across this post on the site...I hope it has some truth to it:
http://www.hairtell.com/forum/ubbthreads.php/ubb/showflat/Number/39177/page/1#Post39177

Originally Posted By: sslhr