Subscribe & Support This Site!
consumer hair removal forum
Page 3 of 4 < 1 2 3 4 >
Topic Options
Rate This Topic
Hop To:
#51867 - 05/11/08 07:28 AM Re: First DIY Machine [Re: James W. Walker VII]
VickieCNY Offline
Top 10 Contributor

Registered: 03/30/08
Posts: 679
Arlene, NY but not NYC. Actually, in terms of distance I am about halfway between you and James frown

I'll have to look and see if any community colleges offer such a program. I would hope I could avoid most of those non-core classes, since I already took most of those years ago and have a four year degree (in a scientific discipline) now.

It pains me to think how much I spent on all of the credit hours on pointless, even silly classes with no relevance to anything in my major (think "basket weaving 101") just to fulfill some requirement for graduation. I could have probably bought a set-up and a new Apilus Senior on what I paid for all those trivial classes alone. crazy
_________________________
Treatment details: genetic male heavy facial/body hair no hrt, type III skin
Pro Electro: 126.00 hours Apilus Platinum picoflash + synchro
DIY/Co-DIY Electro: 823.25/75.50 hours Apilus SM-500 microflash + blend

Top
Sponsored Links
#52241 - 05/24/08 01:18 AM Re: First DIY Machine [Re: TLHS]
meu2 Offline
Member

Registered: 05/24/08
Posts: 1
ARE you still interested in selling your electrolysis machine, I live in Lima Ohio and am looking for one?

Let me know
meu2

Top
#52395 - 05/28/08 05:09 AM Re: First DIY Machine [Re: meu2]
ravenhaired Offline
Member

Registered: 05/05/08
Posts: 7
I posted on the ebay thread a month ago about purchasing a machine. Unfortunately, I missed out on a Clareblend posted on ebay. They have some great machines up now, but too expensive for a new DIYer. I recently saw an ad for a Electro blend epilator model UC-2. Supposedly brand new, with all the books, but no needles. It was orginally purchased for $1,500. Is this a good machine? If so, how much is a reasonable offer on such a machine? I will have to figure in shipping and handling as well.




Top
#52404 - 05/28/08 01:17 PM Re: First DIY Machine [Re: ravenhaired]
James W. Walker VII Offline

Top 10 Contributor

Registered: 06/03/02
Posts: 8055
Loc: Buffalo NY, & Traveling the US...
The Hinkel Electro-Blend UC-2 is a great all purpose machine with the ease of stereo knobs to select treatment energy and timing. It can be set to do galvanic, thermolysis or blend. It is a nice machine for anyone, Home User, or Professional.

I would not expect to touch this machine for less than $800, and anything under $2,000 is better than retail.
_________________________
http://www.executiveclearance.com/beforeandafter.html
Setting a goal is not the main thing. It is deciding how you will go about achieving it and staying with that plan. --- Tom Landry
Has this site helped you? Pay it forward. Donate to keep HairTell & Hairfacts Online at http://www.hairfacts.com/feedback/support-this-site/

Top
#52415 - 05/28/08 10:17 PM Re: First DIY Machine [Re: James W. Walker VII]
ravenhaired Offline
Member

Registered: 05/05/08
Posts: 7
Thanks, James. The woman wrote me back so I am going to make her an offer. I think I can possibly get a good deal since it was posted for a few weeks and she still hasn't gotten rid of it. I saw an older posting for Elite SPECTRUM by Instantron and might inquire about that as well.

Top
#52428 - 05/28/08 11:51 PM Re: First DIY Machine [Re: ravenhaired]
James W. Walker VII Offline

Top 10 Contributor

Registered: 06/03/02
Posts: 8055
Loc: Buffalo NY, & Traveling the US...
Many electrolysis offices are still using the venerable workhorse known as the Elite Spectrum, lovingly made by the hands of my dear friends at Instantron.

Most of these are digital selectors, but the insertion delay cannot go lower than one second, which for a home user, is quite alright, but for a professional becomes a glass ceiling, eventually. I and several of my friends are regularly using insertion delays between 0.2 and 0.5 seconds.

Again, this machine will do galvanic, blend, and thermolysis. Used ones typically sell for $500 - $1,000, and they can be serviced by Texas Electrolysis Supply, in the west or south USA, and can go back home to the Instantron Company if you live in the east or northern states.

Tell them James says howdy.
_________________________
http://www.executiveclearance.com/beforeandafter.html
Setting a goal is not the main thing. It is deciding how you will go about achieving it and staying with that plan. --- Tom Landry
Has this site helped you? Pay it forward. Donate to keep HairTell & Hairfacts Online at http://www.hairfacts.com/feedback/support-this-site/

Top
#52439 - 05/29/08 03:39 AM Re: First DIY Machine [Re: James W. Walker VII]
ravenhaired Offline
Member

Registered: 05/05/08
Posts: 7
So it sounds like the Hinkel is a better option. The Instantron looked more modern with it being digital, so I thought it might be better for a beginner. Oddly enough, the person selling the Hinkel said she paid 1,500, whereas the Instantron seller said they paid 2,000. confused.

Top
#52444 - 05/29/08 07:47 AM Re: First DIY Machine [Re: ravenhaired]
VickieCNY Offline
Top 10 Contributor

Registered: 03/30/08
Posts: 679
The Elite Spectrum sells new for $2400 from Instatron directly ($395 more with air.)

James, any idea what an older Instantron Elite is worth? I think I got a great deal it, but I am curious what I could resell it for if I upgraded.

I was also considering sending my older Elite back to Instantron to be refurbished/recalibrated and have the wonky LCD display replaced. Any idea what the refurb/recal would run from Instantron directly?
_________________________
Treatment details: genetic male heavy facial/body hair no hrt, type III skin
Pro Electro: 126.00 hours Apilus Platinum picoflash + synchro
DIY/Co-DIY Electro: 823.25/75.50 hours Apilus SM-500 microflash + blend

Top
#52454 - 05/29/08 03:38 PM Re: First DIY Machine [Re: VickieCNY]
James W. Walker VII Offline

Top 10 Contributor

Registered: 06/03/02
Posts: 8055
Loc: Buffalo NY, & Traveling the US...
These usually sell on Ebay for $500 to $1,000 with some going for less on a bad week, and rarely some going for more on a good week (when no other real machines are available, and one is willing to ship to India)

Having them work on the machine runs $80 to $200 plus shipping depending on what is needed.
_________________________
http://www.executiveclearance.com/beforeandafter.html
Setting a goal is not the main thing. It is deciding how you will go about achieving it and staying with that plan. --- Tom Landry
Has this site helped you? Pay it forward. Donate to keep HairTell & Hairfacts Online at http://www.hairfacts.com/feedback/support-this-site/

Top
#52488 - 05/30/08 08:13 AM Re: First DIY Machine [Re: James W. Walker VII]
VickieCNY Offline
Top 10 Contributor

Registered: 03/30/08
Posts: 679
I paid $300 for my Elite, it was no $500 VMC but hey not bad grin

Speaking of Instantrons and repairs, I have a question I hope someone who has used my machine can help me with. I am embarrassed to ask, since I fear this is another case of "user error".blush But I want to make sure if it isn't me I send it off to be properly repaired if need be. I read the manual and still can't figure it out, again maybe it is my lack of training or something.

I have the machine set with the computer off (requiring the footswitch and no insertion autodetect and delay) and the auto/manual set to manual (no automatic timing) the meter set to display mA/galvanic and finally modality set to galvanic only.

When in this configuration, I have the ground attached to myself, insert the needle into a follicle and press the footswitch to turn on 0.3mA of current. Instead of displaying 00.3 on the meter, it constantly goes up and down, from positive to negative, displaying all sorts of illogical values (at least illogical to me.) If I touch the needle to the electrode directly, it displays a -1 constantly (null?). The RF indicator light also comes on, even though modality is set to galv only and the RF settings are all set at 0.

When I have the computer on (in auto or manual mode) the meter shows exactly the current I have dialed in (say 0.3mA so the meter displays 0.3). if I have the computer off but in automatic mode, the same thing occurs, it correctly displays the mA I have selected on the dial.

With the computer off and mode set to manual, the sensation of the current at a given mA level is the same as if the computer was on and/or mode was set to automatic. So, in other words, 0.3mA on a given area feels the same regardless of whether the computer is on or off, or if the mode is set to manual or automatic.

A friend, who is an electronics technician, said that in computer off/manual mode the meter is dancing around because the circuit is not consistent and something is causing resistance to vary and that throws the digital meter off. He also said that computer on is adjusting the current constantly to maintain the desired level, as would just having the mode it set to automatic.

My question is, are the weird meter readings expected or does this sound like some sort of user error/inexperience on my part? Thanks grin

Top
Page 3 of 4 < 1 2 3 4 >

Moderator:  Andrea 
Sponsored Links
Recent Posts
Could you give me some electrolysis advice?
by cristiana
1 second ago
Something wrong
by blueberry
34 minutes 45 seconds ago
Danger? 1 brand of needlecord in another machine?
by dimi
Today at 01:59 PM
Can someone in USA sell me THE needles, please?
by melb_aussie
Today at 12:47 PM
temporary hypopigmentation or dermis scarring?
by Iluv2zap
Today at 09:04 AM
Top Posters
LAgirl 9994
Deedra 9719
James W. Walker VII 8055
Andrea 4158
Michael Bono 3501
Who's Online
0 registered (), 125 Guests and 3 Spiders online.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod